Go Ape Review – Our Tree Top Adventure

Last weekend Zak and I were invited to do a Go Ape review of their tree top adventure course at Rivington, Lancashire. Zak has just turned 11 and I have been looking for a whole new set of activities that we can do together. Petting zoo’s, trips to the park, soft play and all those typical things you do with younger children are very firmly OUT and have been for quite some time so I was excited to be asked by Go Ape to review their course. We have done something similar once before so I knew that it would be something he would absolutely love and also a bit of a birthday treat.

Saturday morning rolled round bright, crisp and sunny and we excitedly set off on the 45 minute journey to Rivington. Rivington is such a beautiful setting, nestled at the foot of Winter Hill and right next to a reservoir in the heart of Lancashire. We actually know the area pretty well as there are some brilliant walks for all abilities, mountain biking for the more adventurous as well as those gorgeous views. It’s worth a visit if you’re ever in the area.

Go Ape Rivington

If we hadn’t known where we were going then I think we might have got lost as it’s not well signposted in my opinion. However once you do arrive there is plenty of free parking, a café and toilet facilities. The staff in the Go Ape cabin were really welcoming, friendly and most importantly reassuring because by this point I think both Zak and I were feeling pretty nervous! They gave us a bit of paperwork to read and sign which was slightly disconcerting when it gave warnings about fatal accidents!! It’s all precautionary though because the staff take great care to help you go round the course safely and securely. Phew!

After signing the obligatory paperwork we said goodbye to Shaun and Sophie who went off on a lovely walk around the course. It’s worth noting that there are plenty of areas to explore if you are with little ones and they had a lovely few hours in the fresh air.

Babies at Go Ape Rivington

Go Ape courses are only for children from the age of 10 upwards (there’s a reason for that!). An instructor helped us into our harnesses and then there was a really thorough safety demonstration. I don’t think I’d realised that we would be going round the course alone and that came as a bit of a shock but the reality of it wasn’t daunting at all once you got into the swing of things (no pun intended).

Go Ape review Rivington safety briefing

The whole course took us about three hours from the beginning of the safety demonstration (which took around 30 mins) until landing safely back on our feet again. You can watch how we got on in the tree tops as I bravely attempted to vlog the whole thing whilst clinging on to the trees!

I will admit that although I’ve been known to be a bit of a daredevil at times, I was actually afraid when climbing up the first rope ladder. You’ll see in the video that Zak went first and that’s because the rules dictate that children have to go first. Adults have sole responsibility for any under 16’s who are with you and you have to see that they successfully navigate it before getting across yourself. I basically had an major internal wobble when I got to the top of the first tree and actually contemplated going back down because I was so scared. The only reason that I sucked it up and put on a brave face was for Zak. He was so at home up there and so excited to be doing this – just like a little monkey! I just couldn’t have disappointed him like that. The things we do for our kids hey! After the first section though, my nerves calmed a bit. You can’t tell how nervous I was I don’t think? At least I hope not and we did have a really fun time. Here’s a few pictures of our time at Go Ape.

Go Ape review tree tops

Go Ape review rope ladder

Go Ape review Zipwire

Go Ape Review Tarzan Swing

There was a point about half way round that we got a bit stuck. One of Zak’s clips got jammed and he couldn’t go up or down. It was at a pretty high point and he had a bit of a wobble understandably! Help was at hand though as there was an instructor patrolling below us and it only took her a few minutes to climb up, sort him out and send us on our way again. This was the point that Zak got stuck in the picture below. Pretty high I’m sure you’ll agree!

Go Ape review

I think for both of us the most memorable part of the course was the massive 198m zipwire that comes out over the top of Rivington Reservoir. The zipwires and tarzan swings were the highlight of the course but this one was just so incredible – a bit like flying! Here’s Zak doing his best Bear Grylls impression.

All in all we had a magic few hours together in the tree tops of Go Ape. The best part of all was getting to spend that one on one time with Zak. We challenged each other, worked as a team and overcame our fears together and that serves as a brilliant bonding experience. We can’t wait to return to another Go Ape review again very soon.

A massive thank you to Go Ape for arranging such a brilliant day out for us! If you fancy doing something similar with your older kids then you can read everything you need to know at the Go Ape! Website

Facebooktwittergoogle_pluslinkedinmail
Follow:
The Go Ape review trip was paid for by Go Ape in return for an open and honest review

34 Comments

  1. October 29, 2016 / 8:09 am

    This is literally my greatest fear! I hate heights so I’d be useless. But many friends of mine have done Go Ape and loved it!What a lovely way to spend the day with Zak! Glad you enjoyed it xx #fortheloveofBLOG
    Fi – Beauty Baby and Me recently posted…Dear Diary – It’s been a while!My Profile

  2. October 29, 2016 / 9:12 am

    This looks like so much fun! My 6 year old daughter is a complete monkey when it comes to climbing and a total daredevil so I’m pretty sure that when she reaches 10, this will be one of the first places we go! Loved the vlog!! #fortheloveofblog
    Cherry – The Newby Tribe recently posted…Halloween: It’s Hard To IgnoreMy Profile

  3. October 29, 2016 / 10:03 am

    sounds amazing and is definitely something my three would enjoy – me, not so much!! Understandable he had a wobble – very brave to do it!! #fortheloveofBLOG

  4. October 29, 2016 / 10:53 am

    This sounds like great fun tho you’re definitely braver than me! This sounds like a great way to entertain older children #fortheloveofBLOG

  5. October 29, 2016 / 11:22 am

    He looks like he had lots of fun despite getting a little stuck. My girls are too young for this at the moment but I know where my local one is. It is also really badly signposted! I often go for a little walk in the woods.
    #fortheloveofBLOG
    Kirsty – winnettes recently posted…Gin & Tonic JellyMy Profile

  6. October 29, 2016 / 11:23 am

    It looks amazing – the videos and the photos are fab. My sister had to be rescued from the Go Ape in the Lake District, because she freaked out! She was so embarrassed. It looks like great fun and a lovely bonding activity. Thank you for sharing. Alison x #fortheloveofblog
    Alison (MadHouseMum) recently posted…*Exciting new project – contributions required*My Profile

  7. October 29, 2016 / 12:12 pm

    Aaaww we love Go ape, we’ve not explored the one at Rivington yet though, maybe next time as it’s not so far!
    Kelly recently posted…Today, small girl, I miss you My Profile

  8. October 29, 2016 / 2:19 pm

    Such beautiful views. I love these photos. Beautiful. #fortheloveofBLOG

  9. October 29, 2016 / 6:44 pm

    Looks like you had such a good time. I’d love to do something like this. Not sure how I’d be when it came to actually doing it though.. ha
    #fortheloveofBLOG
    Sam recently posted…Cleaning Monster…My Profile

  10. October 29, 2016 / 7:02 pm

    Ahhhhh! MY oldest would have such a blast doing this. My middle- probably would not even get out of the car!

    #Afortheloveofblog
    kristin mccarthy recently posted…Queen Of The Suburban FarmMy Profile

  11. October 29, 2016 / 7:11 pm

    When I was 18 I did one of these and loved it, I tried another one when I was 25 and was absolutely terrified!! I couldn’t believe I’d lost my fearlessness!! #fortheloveofBLOG
    Claire recently posted…Honey BBQ Pumpkin SeedsMy Profile

  12. October 29, 2016 / 7:33 pm

    As a youngster I loved doing this. Whether I’ll be the same when my children are your age only time will tell. #fortheloveofBLOG
    Helena recently posted…Word of the Week: ProductiveMy Profile

  13. October 29, 2016 / 8:39 pm

    That looks so fun! I can’t remember the last time I did something like that, can’t wait for the kids to get bigger and I can take them to places like this, even if it’s just for myself lol #fortheloveofBLOG

  14. October 29, 2016 / 9:09 pm

    Oh, I don’t think I could handle these heights. You were both very brave
    #fortheloveofBLOG.

  15. October 29, 2016 / 9:59 pm

    Fab photos, we have Go Ape at Delamere Forest but my teenager has never been interested in going, I think it would be great fun.
    #forthrloveofBlog

  16. October 29, 2016 / 10:03 pm

    Wow that looks wild! Like something I would’ve been all over in my early 20s…now not so much! Glad you had fun! #fortheloveofblog

  17. October 30, 2016 / 4:26 am

    We love doing this – in the holidays, a big group of kids and parents go off and we all do it together! So much fun!#fortheloveofblog

  18. October 30, 2016 / 6:21 am

    Good effort! There’s a Go Ape! Near us but M is a little too young for it yet. We grown ups are not however! Fab pics too.
    #fortheloveofblog

  19. October 30, 2016 / 7:05 am

    I did Go Ape last weekend for our weeding anniversary (who said romance is dead?!) The Forest of Dean has a junior course too and I can’t wait to take my little guys when they are old enough #fortheloveofBLOG
    Abi recently posted…Daylight Saving – Who’s To Blame?!My Profile

  20. October 30, 2016 / 7:54 am

    Ooh this looks so exciting!! I wanna go! Thanks for hosting!

  21. October 30, 2016 / 8:13 am

    Oh my gosh some of that looks so terrifying. My kids would absolutely love it, though one is too young and I couldn’t bear the tantrum she would through if she found she couldn’t go on that! So we’ll give it a couple of years and I’ll have them swinging through the trees! It looks like such as amazing day out – can’t wait to try it! #fortheloveofblog
    Tooting Mama recently posted…I love Grace Bonney and Design SpongeMy Profile

  22. October 30, 2016 / 9:48 am

    Oh I’ve done Go Ape in Thetford Forest and I was terrified!! Looks like you had a great day though and so ready you got to review it! #fortheloveofBlog

  23. October 31, 2016 / 1:10 pm

    ahhh id literally HATE this lol. im not good with anything like this so hats off for not going back down hehe! and well done Zak for not completely losing it way up in the branches! they’d have had to carry me down hehe! #fortheloveofblog
    stumbled and tweeted too x
    Emma me and b make tea recently posted…Baby’s First Christmas? What it was REALLY Like!My Profile

  24. October 31, 2016 / 8:14 pm

    We live about five minutes away from Rivington!!! It’s one of our favourite places to go and yet we have never done the Go Ape here, we always go to the one in the lakes. To be honest, I say we, I usually stand there quivering as my twelve year old and husband do it, I’m just not brave enough!! You are both so brave!! #fortheloveofBLOG
    five little doves recently posted…Our final day of rainbows, featuring Ip Dip Sky Blue.My Profile

  25. October 31, 2016 / 8:14 pm

    We live about five minutes away from Rivington!!! It’s one of our favourite places to go and yet we have never done the Go Ape here, we always go to the one in the lakes. To be honest, I say we, I usually stand there quivering as my twelve year old and husband do it, I’m just not brave enough!! You are both so brave!! #fortheloveofBLOG
    five little doves recently posted…Our final day of rainbows, featuring Ip Dip Sky Blue.My Profile

  26. October 31, 2016 / 9:21 pm

    Great pictures and I know it’s something hubby & little man would love to do when he’s older – me, not so! I’m not very adventurous when it comes to things like this! 🙂 #fortheloveofblog
    Jaki recently posted…Introducing My New BalayageMy Profile

  27. November 2, 2016 / 2:32 pm

    oh goodness what fun it looks like you had. id love to do something like this but im such a scaredy pants #fortheloveofblog
    Lex recently posted…Review: Bahlsen PiCK UP! MinisMy Profile

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge