Devon Cliffs – Haven Holiday Review

A holiday here in the UK is not everyone’s cup of tea. The weather is unpredictable at best and for many people if you aren’t getting on a plane then you aren’t really on holiday. I have to admit that I was firmly in this camp up until we went on our staycation to the Devon Cliffs Haven Holiday Park.

I’m not really sure what led us to the decision to stay in the UK but I’m glad we did. The weather was hot and sunny all week and I can honestly say that both we and our three boys enjoyed one of our favourite family holidays here.

Here is my review of our holiday to Haven’s Devon Cliffs Holiday Park:

Devon Cliffs Holiday Park – Location

  • Devon Cliffs holiday park sits on the outskirts of Exmouth, a really pretty seaside town in Devon.
  • As the name suggests, Devon Cliffs is based on a cliff top which overlooks its own private, sandy beach with views out over the channel. It’s such a picturesque location!

 

Devon Cliffs Holiday Park – First Impressions

  • Everything is well laid out, clean and the grounds are so well-kept. Visually, it’s really very appealing.
  • Arriving in the height of the summer holidays, it was obviously very busy but check-in at the main reception was quick, well-organised and efficient and the staff were really friendly and welcoming. They were also very helpful in explaining how to find our caravan so we had no trouble locating it, which is a bonus after an eight hour car journey with three boys!
  • The park is huge and there are lots of very steep hills to walk up and down when getting about. This wasn’t a problem for our family and there were lots of families with young children but I’m not sure how people with mobility issues would get around easily.

Accommodation

  • We booked a Prestige static Caravan and we were pleasantly surprised at how modern and welcoming it was. There were three bedrooms, a kitchen, shower room and TV, plus bedding was included and made up for us on arrival. We also had a rather lovely sea view!
  • You can’t expect a static caravan to be huge but aside from the bedrooms, which really are quite small, the living and kitchen areas were light, bright and as spacious as they can be. We were actually really impressed with the standard compared to some other static’s we have stayed in.

devon-caravan

 

  • Unfortunately, a few days into our stay there was a strong smell of sewage under one of the bedroom’s but the Haven team were really helpful and moved us to a new static caravan straight away and were very apologetic. The new caravan was even better and had the most perfect sea views!
  • As I mentioned at the start of the post, it was a very hot week and it’s worth noting that there is no air conditioning. This was the one down side of the caravans – when you come back after a day out, it was overpoweringly hot inside. If you are bringing a dog with you (lots of people did) then you couldn’t leave them in the caravan for any length of time due to the heat. Equally, if you are staying on a colder week then there is no heating either so I’d recommend bringing an extra duvet or blankets.
  • I found the cooking facilities to be perfectly fine and the caravans were equipped with all the pots and pans that you need to feed everyone as well as a fridge/freezer, toaster, kettle etc.

Park Facilities and Entertainment

Here is where this holiday park really excels itself. There are so many activities on offer that we were kept entertained for the whole holiday. Some of our favourites included:

  • The swimming pool complex providing a broad range of water-based activities including but not limited to
    • aqua jets,
    • inflatable fun sessions for the kids,
    • canoeing,
    • waterslides,
    • outdoor pools (summer only),
    • indoor pools

You name it, they’ve got it! The kids could have spent all day in there (and they did on a few occasions!)

Photograph courtesy of Haven Holidays

Photograph courtesy of Haven Holidays

  • Endless sporting activities including an adventure golf course, archery, fencing and a climbing wall to name a few!

Photograph courtesy of Haven Holidays

  • An aerial adventure course – tackling this together as a family was probably one of our holiday highlights!

devon

  • In terms of facilities, Haven seem to have thought of everything. Central to the holiday park is a complex including:
    • Main reception,
    • bars,
    • entertainment areas,
    • Supermarket (SPAR and surprisingly reasonably priced!),
    • cash machine,
    • coffee shop (Starbucks)
    • Obligatory fast food eateries (Burger King, Fish and Chips, Papa Johns Pizza etc).
  • There is also a seafood restaurant overlooking the beach at the bottom of the holiday park, which was slightly overpriced but decent quality nonetheless.
  • Beach shop at the entrance to the Sandy Bay beach where you can pick up wetsuits, buckets and spades etc
  • Every evening there was the standard holiday park entertainment laid on but our boys were so entertained in the arcade with its games, slot machines and varying prizes to be won that we barely got round to it. To be honest, that kind of entertainment isn’t really our thing and we often ended up back at the caravan playing card games and chilling out so I can’t comment on that side of the holiday park.

Days Out

Devon is full of brilliant days out for every age but we particularly enjoyed the following days out:

  •  A sea fishing trip, which set off from Exmouth beach. We didn’t actually catch anything but it was a fun few hours on the water trying!
  • Crabbing on Haven’s very own sandy beach
  • A day on Exmouth beach – two miles of beautiful, clean, sandy beach is not to be missed if you are lucky with the weather. This was a brilliant day and the kids loved surfing the waves on their paddle boards
  • Kents Cavern in Torquay – an underground maze of prehistoric caves. This was a really interesting day out but probably not one for tiny children as it might be a bit frightening.

So would we return?

Definitely!

I’m sure you can tell that we were so impressed with Haven’s Devon Cliffs Holiday Park. It was an action packed, fun filled week for us all and the kids are already pestering us to return for another holiday soon. Just writing this review has brought it all back and has made me want to pack up the car and get back there again! If you are looking for a family friendly holiday with lots to keep the kids entertained then this is the place for you!

Have you been to a Haven holiday park, or maybe even Devon Cliffs? If so, let me know what you thought in the comments box below and if you found this useful, please feel free to share the review with others.

 

 

Facebooktwittergoogle_pluslinkedinmail
Follow:

71 Comments

  1. Julia
    June 9, 2016 / 8:16 pm

    Looks great fun for families

  2. June 11, 2016 / 7:22 am

    The activities all sound perfect for young children, and I am much more partial to a staycation now we have a baby as I fund travelling so stressful. #fortheloveofBLOG
    Nursery Whines recently posted…The Great EscapeMy Profile

  3. June 11, 2016 / 7:59 am

    Gorgeous photos! I’ve looked at Haven holidays in the past, but felt they were expensive, so it’s really interesting to see what you get for your money and it does look lovely. What a beautiful location. Your review certainly makes me more interested in a Haven holiday. Great info on days out too. Good to link up with #fortheloveofBLOG Alison x

    • June 11, 2016 / 10:02 am

      Happy you found it useful! It was a brilliant holiday and we wouldn’t hesitate to return x

      • September 17, 2016 / 9:23 am

        Hi Fi, two of my sons work here in sports and leisure. I’m so glad you enjoyed it, all the staff work really hard so it’s lovely to get some positive feedback. Aren’t I lucky to live in Exmouth!

  4. June 11, 2016 / 8:05 am

    This is about 40 minutes away from me and I’ve alwaus considered it for a quick break but never actually booked it. P.s Exeter is just up the road and not bad for shopping! #fortheloveofBLOG
    Jasmine recently posted…‘Snap Cackle & Pop’ Book ReviewMy Profile

  5. June 11, 2016 / 8:31 am

    This looks like the perfect summer holiday for kids. How lucky you were with the weather 🙂 I am so envious of all the sunny photo’s I’ve seen from the UK! We are in Switzerland which usually has much better weather, but at the moment we have constant rain, and floods! #fortheloveofBLOG
    Kate Orson recently posted…Giggle Parenting Inspiration – Teeth Brushing SchoolMy Profile

    • June 11, 2016 / 10:12 am

      I didn’t know you were in Switzerland! We aren’t always that lucky with the weather – just was a lovely week thankfully ! x
      Fi recently posted…The Mummy TagMy Profile

  6. June 11, 2016 / 8:40 am

    Great review and brilliant pix. We’ve just come back from Thornwick Bay, in Yorkshire, it was fantastic. So much to do for the kids – although my monkey three-year-old refused twice to get on the balance bike during his lesson! #fortheloveofBLOG

    • June 11, 2016 / 10:13 am

      Thanks lovely! I really want to try one of the Yorkshire parks – it’s one of my fave parts of the country! I will check it out x
      Fi recently posted…A Father’s Day Gift GuideMy Profile

  7. June 11, 2016 / 9:39 am

    Good job you went for the ‘Prestige’ I once stayed in a ‘Bronze’ caravan for a weekend [different site]…..not to be recommended!

    • June 11, 2016 / 10:14 am

      Oh dear – I think I will stick with the Prestige then 🙂 x
      Fi recently posted…Hey Workout ReviewMy Profile

  8. June 11, 2016 / 9:51 am

    Awesome! Looks like so much fun – perfect family holiday 🙂

    Thanks for sharing and for the link #fortheloveofBLOG

    • June 11, 2016 / 10:15 am

      I didn’t mention that the kids were trying to kill each other the whole week (what’s new!) but aside from that it was lush! x
      Fi recently posted…Oh I do like to be beside the seasideMy Profile

  9. June 11, 2016 / 10:21 am

    I visit holday parks every year but not been to a Haven one for a while but this year we are visiting a Park resorts one in south wales. We always have a great time and the kids love it #fortheloveofblog
    tracey bowden recently posted…All Hail Queen Bey!My Profile

  10. June 11, 2016 / 11:07 am

    We have visited Devon Cilffs, we went at Easter a couple of years ago and had an awful time. We went for the weekend and from Friday night til Saturday night we had no power. My son has special needs and found it really hard to cope with the disruption and the fact he couldn’t have the hallway light on. The staff at reception told us the power had been blown out due to a lot of people bringing portable heaters and it overloaded their power grid. There was no offer of torches or anything like that, they just didn’t seem bothered. I even emailed their main office, but all they did was tell me what the problem had been, they were not bothered we had a miserable time.
    I am glad you had a better experience than we did.
    #fortheloveofBLOG
    Ali Duke recently posted…What I have Learned About Blogging So FarMy Profile

  11. June 11, 2016 / 11:22 am

    I’ve never been to a holiday park but it looks like a great way to entertain the kids once they are old enough to take part in the activities on offer. What a beautiful location and view. I love Devon, it’s a great place to get away from it all. #fortheloveofBLOG

  12. June 11, 2016 / 11:24 am

    I have always been a big staycation fan, perhaps because that’s what we always did as children. I burn really easily too and always get bitten by insects so I think I feel safer in the UK haha. We recently went to a haven park near us – the location was nowhere near as nice as this one looks!! And I don’t think the facilities were quite as good although we didn’t use many of them, just the pool and the main bar. We went in April so weren’t expecting good weather but it was super cold. Luckily our caravan did have heating though! It was such good value though and really nice for us with the baby to just chill out. Great review, think you’ve covered everything!! #fortheloveofBLOG
    Ellen recently posted…Things I didn’t know about birthMy Profile

  13. June 11, 2016 / 11:28 am

    we used to go to Haven in Devon all the time when were kids, we used to have the best holidays!! I keep saying to the husband we should holiday in the UK with our kids because I honestly think they would love it, but he always says that they can be almost as expensive as a trip abroad, and at least a trip abroad pretty much g’tees good weather so we always end up doing that instead. I’ll keep trying though lol #fortheloveofBLOG
    Laughing Mum recently posted…I knew I should never have started Baby Ballet!My Profile

    • June 11, 2016 / 11:44 am

      It can work out the same cost, I know what he means! Worth a try though, I’m sure your kids would love it x
      Fi recently posted…The Mummy TagMy Profile

  14. June 11, 2016 / 11:29 am

    I love these kind of holidays where there are loads of fun activities which the whole family can do together. We have never been to Devon but it looks beautiful and am always on the look out for somewhere new to go. #fortheloveofblog

  15. The_tale_of_mummyhood
    June 11, 2016 / 11:39 am

    Wow it looks like you had a great time, very family friendly!

    #fortheloveofBLOG

  16. June 11, 2016 / 11:56 am

    What a lovely break! Looks absolutely Fab! #fortheloveofblog

  17. June 11, 2016 / 12:13 pm

    This looks brilliant! Haven holidays always remind me of growing up and going to Scarborough! I loved the party dances in the evening; still remember the songs… “Haven holidays, lots of fun and happy days, we hope that you enjoy your stay with Haven holidays…” – do they still sing that??
    Haha, anyway, looks lovely and pleased you had nice weather!
    Laura 🙂
    #fortheloveofBLOG

  18. June 11, 2016 / 12:22 pm

    We LOVE a staycation! Cornwall is usually top of our list, but we went to Yorkshire for a week recently and loved it. We’ve not done Devon with the kids but your photos look lovely – that view in the first one!!! Certainly beats the view out of my window right now 😉 #FortheloveofBLOG

  19. June 11, 2016 / 1:17 pm

    Hiya we love Haven and found a great park near Weymouth called Littlesea worth checking out if you fancy the Jurassic coast! Your review is great and photos are stunning x #fortheloveofblog
    Mrs T recently posted…When will I learn?My Profile

  20. June 11, 2016 / 3:39 pm

    Aww we holidayed in Devon a lot when we were small as we had cousins there – the beaches are incredible and if the weather is beautiful like you had then really the need to get on a plane and travel abroad is greatly decreased. Gorgeous photos too – can not get over those blue skies! #fortheloveofBLOG
    justsayingmum.com recently posted…Operation Skinny JeanMy Profile

  21. June 11, 2016 / 4:21 pm

    I have fond memories of Haven holidays as a kid but this park is something else – it looks amazing!! Definitely one to consider for next year. #fortheloveofBLOG

  22. June 11, 2016 / 5:57 pm

    Oh wow, this place looks amazing! i would go for the water parks alone!

  23. June 11, 2016 / 6:40 pm

    Ah, Haven Holidays. I went on a great deal of these back in the 90s when I was a child/teen, and loved it. We went on a UK caravan holiday last year for the first time in about 20 years last year, but with a different company as Haven are better for older children in my experience and we were a group of 4 adults and a one year old. Love Haven though, always brings back such happy memories for me. #fortheloveofBLOG

  24. June 11, 2016 / 6:45 pm

    Your photos are fab! and the caravan is far bigger and plusher than I imagined. The swimming facilities also looks awesome. I think there is a lot to be said to holidaying in this country, there are so many gorgeous places to visit, especially in the south west. Hope you had a fab time x #fortheloveofBLOG

  25. June 11, 2016 / 7:00 pm

    Looks like you all had a great time! When my little one is a bit older, I am thinking a static caravan holiday is the way to go! I used to go when I was younger and loved it and you haven’t got the hassle of planning a trip abroad – always find it is a bit easier if you stay in the UK! 😀 #fortheloveofBLOG

  26. June 11, 2016 / 7:13 pm

    Oh wow, it looks so fun and great you had so much sun x

  27. June 11, 2016 / 7:20 pm

    Wow you’re brave – an 8hr journey with 2 kids!! We have a family caravan at Haven Hopton (Norfolk) which the kids absolutely LOVE! It’s a 2.5hr journey and my daughter starts asking ‘are we nearly there’ from about 15mins in! 🙂 Sounds like you lucked out with the weather, beautiful part of the world to visit. I’m all for a staycation 🙂 #fortheloveofBLOG
    Mess and Merlot recently posted…Back in the game- ishMy Profile

  28. June 11, 2016 / 8:01 pm

    Looks like you had a great time! I love Haven x #fortheloveofBLOG

  29. June 11, 2016 / 8:17 pm

    I’m a massive fan of UK holidays as there is no way I am taking a toddler abroad! I went to center Parcs last year and am looking for a new destination for this year…will take a look at haven. #fortheloveofBLOG

  30. June 11, 2016 / 8:34 pm

    Oooooo – I’m very temped to try a Haven park now (we get a twins discount!) as this looks beautiful. You’ve already persuaded me on my choice of Father’s Day Gift (the Friday night curry kit subscription), we now may be also holidaying with Haven as a result of your blog! x #fortheloveofBLOG
    Mindful Mummy Mission recently posted…Wicked Wednesday #2: “Dance Like No one is watching”My Profile

  31. June 12, 2016 / 10:07 am

    Love your pics! Looks like a lovely holiday – like you say a holiday in the UK is sometimes not the most appealing but this looks great! I was particularly impressed by your caravan 🙂 Thanks for hosting #fortheloveofBLOG
    Bridie By The Sea recently posted…My Sunday Photo – 12th June 2016My Profile

  32. June 12, 2016 / 12:42 pm

    Looks like you had a wonderful time, I’ve never thought to holiday there, so thanks for the inspiration! #fortheloveofBLOG

  33. June 12, 2016 / 1:53 pm

    What absolutely beautiful caravans! I’ve always had a fondness for caravan holidays. They always take me back to being a kid myself, call me daft but I even love the sound of the rain on a caravan roof – only at night though, it can do one by morning thank you very much. Glad you had a wonderful time and you were blessed with great weather. #fortheloveofBLOG
    Jaki recently posted…Five years of memories…My Profile

  34. June 12, 2016 / 5:57 pm

    Hi Fi
    Well as you know I am a massive fan of caravan holidays and before we bought our touring caravan we went to France and Italy (Lake Garda) and stayed in Prestige-type static caravans with Key Camp. The facilities on the continental campsites are also fabulous and the weather it more reliable! They also have air conditioning in many of the caravans. We loved staying on proper holiday parks and I am sure Haven is the same with lots of activities and entertainments. I’m not surprised you all had a fab time. Thanks for sharing a review of a British Caravan Park. It sounds great…And if the weather is good then you can have a fab time ‘holidaying at home.’ #Fortheloveofblog

  35. June 13, 2016 / 6:58 am

    We’ve never been on a Haven holiday but they always look fab. You were so lucky with the weather weren’t you – compared to this week’s forecast!! We are thinking about staying in a caravan later this year, fingers crossed we get good weather too! #Fortheloveofblog xx
    Katy (What Katy Said) recently posted…Growing Our Own With HeinzMy Profile

    • June 13, 2016 / 4:48 pm

      It’s a great holiday but I wouldn’t stay in anything less than the deluxe level caravan if you do go – especially if you’re preg! x
      Fi recently posted…The Mummy TagMy Profile

  36. June 13, 2016 / 6:29 pm

    Oh I do love a caravan holiday! We did a Haven in Blackpool this year (one of my faves) for my dad’s 50th and were greeted by a bottle of Prosecco and balloons on arrival and an upgrade!!! Fantastic service, clean and the site staff couldn’t do enough for us!! Never been down to Devon so maybe we need to give that a try! #fortheloveofBLOG xx

  37. June 13, 2016 / 8:37 pm

    Looks like fun and love the sound of all the facilities. Love the photos of the pool, that looks fab! #fortheloveofBLOG
    Yvonne recently posted…HELLP we are going home…My Profile

  38. June 14, 2016 / 12:58 pm

    Ha that is so close to me you should have popped in for a wine! Exmouth is beautiful it is one of my favourite places, the beach is stunning:) There are so many activities at Haven which is fab to keep the little ones entertained! #fortheloveofblog

  39. June 14, 2016 / 7:04 pm

    We love a good static caravan holiday, we’re not long back from Devin ourselves, you got way better weather than us though!! The Haven site looks really well equipped, the other half would have moved into Papa Johns. #TwinklyTuesday

  40. June 14, 2016 / 8:47 pm

    This post is very timely given i’ve just spent about 2 hours trawling the internet on where to go with my son and my parents at the start of July! #TwinklyTuesday
    Mum-Work-Repeat recently posted…Do I have a daddy?My Profile

  41. June 15, 2016 / 7:20 pm

    A great review Fi! I had no idea that Haven holiday parks are so nice. The caravan looks lovely, and the sea view really makes it special. You all look like you had a brilliant time from the photos, and the facilities are perfect and can cater for everyone. I was with you on the “not really on holiday, unless you go on a plane” but I think since having a baby the UK is definitely easier, and when the sun shines who needs the Med. Claire x #fortheloveofBLOG.
    The Pramshed recently posted…Our Holiday to SpainMy Profile

  42. June 17, 2016 / 9:58 pm

    I finally made it back to read, hurrah! And I’m glad I did, I love a staycation but have never done a caravan so this is interesting. Thanks for sharing your experience with #fortheloveofBLOG 🙂

  43. June 17, 2016 / 10:33 pm

    Sounds like fun! I love staycations. & Devon is lovely. I’m not a big fan of caravans, but I think I could cope with a static, as more space and more secure feeling – these look very nice. #fortheloveofBLOG

  44. June 29, 2016 / 6:03 pm

    we’ve been a few times and love Devon cliffs. we recently went to Primrose Park in Filey in Yorkshire. it was nice but I prefer DC. we didn’t have much luck with our caravan as it stunk of smoke and they said they couldn’t move us :/ hmm #abrandnewday
    Emma recently posted…Am I Sad to Feel Sad About Moving House?!My Profile

  45. June 30, 2016 / 2:49 pm

    We’ve seated on a few different Haven parks in the past and I have to say i’ve always been impressed too. There is plenty to do on site for families, especially children. The caravan you had seemed lovely and spacious too. #ABrandNewDay

  46. July 2, 2016 / 3:12 pm

    We did haven holidays when we were kids, some abroad, but also at home. The weather you had must have added to the experience. I used to live near exmouth it’s a beautiful part of the world. Thanks for linking up to #abrandnewday
    Karen recently posted…Happy Days #18 – Meet This Little Big LifeMy Profile

Leave a Reply

You have to agree to the comment policy.

CommentLuv badge